Home » Uncategorized » When I don’t feel like cooking.

When I don’t feel like cooking.

When I get home from work, I am beat.  Drained.  Exhausted.  All will power has been used up and gone.  Cooking is an outlet for me but on days like these, I don’t want to go near anything that does not look like a bed.  And maybe the couch or even the floor lol.  This is not to say that this is a regular occurrence.  I try not make my “days off’ or like my husband likes to call it “On Strike!” , a many numbered thing or a routine, but even when my fridge is stocked with nyam things to eat, all I want to do is sleep.

 

This is when its important to keep the bare minimum in nutrient dense eating and roll from there.  Some grassfed beef and a sweet potato.  A couple pastured eggs on top of sprouted rice.  Something simple so that you and the ones you love don’t go starving.   I remember long days where all my grandmom could muster is some pan fried sausage links and some rice.  Or maybe some quick pan fried catfish or white fish and potato wedges.  Or maybe some grits and sausage sort of like a breakfast for dinner deal.  Those meals were just as comforting and satiating as the big, glorious spreads she’d on the days she felt the energy to bless the burners.

 

So yea.  Its better than nothing.  And if all fails, drink a big mug of stock or raw milk, chuck the deuce and high tail it to bed *sips mug*

 

 

Goodnight.

Leave a Reply

